COMMON TERMINOLOGY
TERMS
AA (Associate of Arts): An associate degree program designed for those planning to pursue a bachelor's degree. 60 credit hours is the requirement for completion. [College of Professional Studies]
AAS (Associate of Applied Science): An associate degree program designed for those looking to pursue a specific field immediately after earning an associate degree, which requires a total of 60 credit hours. [College of Professional Studies]
B
Bibliography
(a) A list of citations to works used by an author to write a paper, article, or book. (b) A list of books, articles, and other sources on a particular subject, about a particular person, or published in a specific region or time period.
Call Number
An alphanumeric code that identifies a specific book or other item in the library and also indicates its location within the library. Call numbers can also indicate the general subject content of a book.
Database
A system that organizes and arranges data into fields and provides the means to sort, group, and retrieve information from those fields. In the library, a database is an electronic index that contains information about articles, books, reference sources, and/or images. Most databases can be searched by fields like author, title of article and publication, and date. Some databases cover many disciplines and others cover only one subject area.
Journal
A type of periodical that covers research in a specific field of study; usually published several times a year.
Parenthetical Citation
A type of in-text citation that utilizes parentheses. This type of citation is used in AAA, ACS, APA, Chicago: Author-Date, CSE-CBE, and MLA styles..
Scholarly
Works Cited
The title for a bibliography in MLA style.
Ask T&D
Call: 615-748-0439
