According to one definition, life-long learning is, "the provision or use of both formal and informal learning opportunities throughout people's lives in order to foster the continuous development and improvement of the knowledge and skills needed for employment and personal fulfillment."
In the boxes below you will find information about some of the books and topics we have available in our collections (both print & ebooks) that you might find useful in your own pursuit of learning.
As that notable figure, Dr. Seuss, once said, "The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you'll go!" Never stop learning!
Women in Academic Leadership by Diane R. Dean; Susan J. Bracken; Jeanie K. AllenColleges and universities benefit from diversity in their leadership roles and profess to value diversity--of thought, of experience, of person. Yet why do women remain under-represented in top academic leadership positions and in key positions along the academic career ladder?Why don t they advance at a rate proportional to that of their male peers? How do internal and external environmental contexts still influence who enters academic leadership and who survives and thrives in those roles? Women in Academic Leadership complements its companion volumes in the Women in Academe series, provoking readers to think critically about the gendered nature of academic leadership across the spectrum of institutional types. It argues that leadership, the academy, and the nexus of academic leadership, remain gendered structures steeped in male-oriented norms and mores. Blending research and reflection, it explores the barriers and dilemmas that these structures present and the professional strategies and the personal choices women make in order to successfully surmount them. The authors pose questions about how women leaders negotiate between their public and private selves. They consider how women develop a vital sense of self-efficacy along with the essential skills and knowledge they need in order to lead effectively; how they cultivate opportunity; and how they gain legitimacy and maintain authenticity in a male-gendered arena. For those who seek to create an institutional environment conducive to equity and opportunity, this book offers insight into the pervasive barriers facing women of all colors and evidence of the need for a more complex, multi-dimensional view of leadership. For women in academe who seek to reach their professional potential and maintain authenticity, it offers encouragement and a myriad of strategies for their growth and development."
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2009
The Art of Educational Leadership by Fenwick W. English"English successfully challenges the established educational community to rethink the current state of research on school leadership in the social sciences...The inclusion of theory, discourse, and stories of recognized leaders followed by chapter learning extensions that include key concepts, movie recommendations, and prompted reflective journaling makes this book a most valuable resource for the educational leadership community." -H.J. Bultinck, CHOICE "The Art of Educational Leadership provides one of the most complete examinations of leadership that I have encountered. I admire the way it urges students to think and reflect. The format allows individual learners to focus on those materials that best fit their learning style while the numerous presentations of a single topic through the different modalities strengthens the learning. This text is a fresh, new look at leadership..." -Louise L MacKay, East Tennessee State University "Fenwick W. English returns to themes of leadership he explored in more than 20 earlier books and dozens of presentation to educator audiences. He favors "re-centering educational leadership in the humanities," rather than acting on the recommendation of the business literature, and he emphasizes the use of films as a way to humanize leadership concepts." -THE SCHOOL ADMINISTRATOR "Excellent cogent analysis of key concepts of leadership are presented in a reader friendly style." -Saul B. Grossman, Temple University Moves beyond established notions of leadership to recognize that effective leading is about drama and performan
Call Number: LB 2805 .E638 2008
Publication Date: 2007-08-14
Challenges in Higher Education Leadership by James Soto Antony (Editor); Ana Mari Cauce (Editor); Donna E. Shalala (Editor)In this important resource, experienced higher education presidents and senior leaders come together with respected scholars to tackle the most important and timely issues facing leaders in colleges and universities today. Challenges in Higher Education Leadershipadvances critical leadership and management skills across a broad array of topics, including student learning, access and affordability, racism, fundraising, athletics, and new technology. Chapters strike a balance between theory and practical advice while promoting the notion that all leaders can learn lessons from one another that can be useful in their own specific contexts. This book poses strategic questions readers should answer, along with advice about how to effectively address today's challenges, providing leaders with the skills and perspectives necessary to respond to higher education students' needs.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017-01-06
Online Education Policy and Practice by Anthony G. PiccianoOnline Education Policy and Practiceexamines the past, present, and future of networked learning environments and the changing role of faculty within them. As digital technologies in higher education increasingly enable blended classrooms, collaborative assignments, and wider student access, an understanding of the creation and ongoing developments of these platforms is needed more than ever. By investigating the history of online education, the rise and critique of MOOCs, the mainstreaming of social media, mobile devices, gaming in instruction, and more, this expansive book outlines a variety of potential scenarios likely to become realities in higher education over the next decade.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016-09-26
Best Practices of Online Education by Mark A. Maddix; James Riley Estep; Mary Ella LoweThe book provides best practices from online educators who are engaged in online teaching and program development in Christian higher education. It also explores the distinct aspects of teaching and developing online courses and programs from a Christian perspective and within Christian higher education institutions. As such it is can serve as a ready resource for academic administrators and professors, novices and veterans at online program development and instruction.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Social Presence in Online Learning by Aimee L. Whiteside (Editor); Amy Garrett Dikkers (Editor); Karen Swan (Editor)Published in Association with The Online Learning Consortium. Social presence continues to emerge as a key factor for successful online and blended learning experiences. It is commonly described as the degree to which online participants feel connected to one another. Understanding social presence--with its critical connections to community-building, retention, and learning outcomes--allows faculty and instructional designers to better support and engage students. This volume, Social Presence in Online Learning, addresses the evolution of social presence with three distinct perspectives, outlines the relevant research, and focuses on practical strategies that can immediately impact the teaching and learning experience. These strategies include creating connections to build community, applying content to authentic situations, integrating a careful mix of tools and media, leveraging reflective and interactive opportunities, providing early and continuous feedback, designing with assessment in mind, and encouraging change in small increments. Because student satisfaction and motivation plays a key role in retention rates and because increased social presence often leads to enriched learning experiences, it is advantageous to mindfully integrate social presence into learning environments. Social Presence in Online Learning brings together eminent scholars in the field to distinguish among three different perspectives of social presence and to address how these viewpoints immediately inform practice. This important volume: * Provides an overview of the evolution of social presence, key findings from social presence research, and practical strategies that can improve the online and blended learning experience * Differentiates three distinct perspectives on social presence and explains the ideas and models that inform these perspectives * Explores specific ways in which social presence relates to course satisfaction, retention, and outcomes * Offers practical implications and ready-to-use techniques that are applicable to multiple disciplines * Introduces current research on social presence by prominent researchers in the field with direct inferences to the practice of online and blended learning * Looks at future directions for social presence Social Presence in Online Learning is appropriate for practitioners, researchers and academics involved in any level of online learning program design, course design, instruction, support, and leadership as well as for graduate students studying educational technology, technology-enhanced learning, and online and blended learning. It brings together multiple perspectives on social presence from the most influential scholars in the field to help shape the future of online and blended learning.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017-06-26
Building Sustainable Futures for Adult Learners by Jennifer K. Holtz; Stephen B. SpringerBuilding Sustainable Futures for Adult Learners is an edited and refereed collection of papers published in conjunction with the joint Adult Higher Educational Alliance (AHEA) and American Association of Adult and Continuing Education Conferences (AAACE). This book is the third in a series of scholarly publications associated with the annual AHEA conference. The book is arranged thematically according to the topics of submissions. Building Sustainable Futures is important because it fills a unique niche in the field of adult education, extends the scope of AHEA to a larger audience, and offers a current volume for scholars and practitioners based on both research and practice-based research.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Building Self-Esteem with Adult Learners by Denis Lawrence`The book is a useful introductory reader for any initial post-compulsory teacher training programme, or the early stages of a degree in post-compulsory education and training. It would also be valuable additional reading for basic skills tutors embarking on the new adult literacy and numeracy qualifications' - Escalate `It is a useful and practical resource which, even if not used for the purposes of staff development, contains helpful insights into something we often talk about but rarely stop to examine' - Adult Learners Self-esteem is a major factor in learning outcomes, with research consistently showing a positive relationship between how a person values themselves and their level of academic attainment. This book shows tutors how to build self-esteem in adult learners, especially those engaged on courses to improve literacy skills. The author presents a structured programme designed to raise self-esteem and also presents a theoretical basis for the development of self-esteem. Practical activities and strategies are presented for building self-esteem in both tutor and student. The book is organized in two parts. Part I provides tutors with an understanding of a student's psychological needs and also provides guidance on developing the necessary teaching skills conducive to the building of self-esteem. Part II comprises of the self-esteem enhancement programme. The book will be useful to tutors working with adult learners in both further and higher education, as well as to tutors on basic adult literacy skills courses.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2012-08-21
Making Sense of Adult Learning by Dorothy MacKeracherLearning is an inseparable part of human experience. Understanding how adults learn and applying that expertise to practical everyday situations and relationships opens the window on a broader understanding of the capacity of the human mind. Dorothy MacKeracher's Making Sense of Adult Learning was first published in 1996, and was acclaimed for its readability and value as a reference tool. For the second edition of this essential work, MacKeracher has reorganized and revised many of the chapters to bring the text up-to-date for contemporary use. Concepts are presented from learning-centred and learner-centred perspectives, while related learning and teaching principles provide ideas about how one may enable others to learn more effectively. Written for people preparing to become adult educators, Making Sense of Adult Learning provides background information about the nature of adult learning and the characteristics that typify adult learners. This new edition will be quick to assert its place as the premier guide in the field.
Culturally Responsive Teaching and Reflection in Higher Education by Sharlene Cochrane; Marjorie Jones; Meenakshi Chhabra; Deborah T. SpraggCulturally Responsive Teaching and Reflection in Higher Educationexplores how postsecondary educators can develop their own cultural awareness and provide inclusive learning environments for all students. Discussing best practices from the Cultural Literacy Curriculum Institute at Lesley University, faculty and administrators who are committed to culturally responsive teaching reflect on how to create an inclusive environment and how educators can cultivate the skills, attitudes, and knowledge necessary for implementing culturally responsive curriculum and pedagogy. Rather than a list of "right answers," essays in this important resource integrate discussion and individual reflection to support educators to enhance skills for responding effectively to racial, cultural, and social difference in their personal and professional contexts. This book is as an excellent starting point or further enrichment resource to accompany program or institutional diversity and inclusion efforts.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2017-01-30
Cooperative Learning in Higher Education: across the disciplines, across the academy by Barbara J. MillisResearch has identified cooperative learning as one of the ten High Impact Practices that improve student learning. If you ve been interested in cooperative learning, but wondered how it would work in your discipline, this book provides the necessary theory, and a wide range of concrete examples.Experienced users of cooperative learning demonstrate how they use it in settings as varied as a developmental mathematics course at a community college, and graduate courses in history and the sciences, and how it works in small and large classes, as well as in hybrid and online environments. The authors describe the application of cooperative learning in biology, economics, educational psychology, financial accounting, general chemistry, and literature at remedial, introductory, and graduate levels.The chapters showcase cooperative learning in action, at the same time introducing the reader to major principles such as individual accountability, positive interdependence, heterogeneous teams, group processing, and social or leadership skills.The authors build upon, and cross-reference, each others chapters, describing particular methods and activities in detail. They explain how and why they may differ about specific practices while exemplifying reflective approaches to teaching that never fail to address important assessment issues."
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2010
Beyond Foundations by Thomas J. Grites; Marsha A. Miller (Editor); Julie Givans Voler (Editor)Sharpen advising expertise by exploring critical issues affecting the field Beyond Foundations, a core resource for experienced academic advisors, gives practitioners insight into important issues affecting academic advising. In addition to gaining understanding of foundational concepts and pressing concerns, master advisors engage with case studies to clarify their roles as educators of students, as thought leaders in institutions, and as advocates for the profession. Pillar documents-the NACADA Core Values, NACADA Concept of Academic Advising, and CAS Standards-serve as sources of both information and inspiration for those seeking to improve advising. New strategies inform advisors helping a diverse student population delineate meaningful educational goals. Each chapter prompts productive discussions with fellow advisors interested in cultivating advising excellence. To promote advisor influence in higher education, experienced contributors explain new trends-including the impact of external forces and legal issues on postsecondary institutions-and the evolution of advising as a profession and a field of inquiry. Expert insight and practical focus contribute to the development of experienced advisors. Use existing resources in new ways to master advising roles and encourage student success Apply theory to advance advising practice Create and optimize professional development opportunities Establish recognition for the contributions of academic advisors to the institution and higher education Face challenges created by the changing higher education landscape Advisors must meet the expectations of students, parents, faculty members, administrators, and outside agencies, all while navigating an increasingly complex range of issues presented by a student population unlike any that has come before. Beyond Foundations provides the insight and clarity advisors need to help students achieve their educational goals and to advance the field.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2016-09-19
The Undecided College Student by Virginia N. GordonThis book focuses on the unique needs of college students who are undecided regarding a field of study and/or career path, and the various approaches that advisors and counselors may take. The text draws on extensive research, both recent and historical, and explores what is most effective in successful universities today. The text explores the many and varied reasons that lead college students to be undecided, and the different solutions that will assist the student in coping with their circumstances and reaching a successful resolution. This updated version includes many ways in which the Internet serves as a useful tool for assisting gathering resources for the undecided college student. Advisors, counselors, and faculty will all glean useful theoretical and practical information from this text that can be applied in individual counseling, group settings, and workshops.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Assessment for Excellence by Alexander W. Astin; Anthony Lising AntonioThe second edition of Assessment for Excellence arrives as higher education enters a new era of the accountability movement. In the face of mandates such as results-based funding and outcomes-based accreditation, institutions and assessment specialists are feeling increasingly pressured to demonstrate accountability to external constituencies. The practice of assessment under these new accountability pressures takes on special significance for the education of students and the development of talent across the entire higher education system. This book introduces a talent development approach to educational assessment as a counter to prevailing philosophies, illustrating how contemporary practices are unable to provide institutions with meaningful data with which to improve educational outcomes. It provides administrators, policymakers, researchers, and analysts with a comprehensive framework for developing new assessment programs to promote talent development and for scrutinizing existing policies and practices. Written for a wide audience, the book enables the lay reader to quickly grasp the imperatives of a properly-designed assessment program, and also to gain adequate statistical understanding necessary for examining current or planned assessment policies. More advanced readers will appreciate the technical appendix for assistance in conducting statistical analyses that align with a talent development approach. In addition, institutional researchers will benefit from sections that outline the development of appropriate student databases.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Modeling and Measuring Competencies in Higher Education: Tasks and Challenges by Sigrid Blömeke and Olga Zlatkin-TroitschanskaiaMeasuring competencies acquired over the course of higher education is an area of research that largely has been neglected. This deficit can be attributed to the complexity of academic competencies since the variety of institutions, programs, occupational fields and job requirements render it difficult to define and even harder to measure outcomes. Thus, assessing the preconditions for and effects of competency development is a challenge methodologically. In this book, a comprehensive review of the international state of research on modeling and measuring competencies in higher education across several academic disciplines is presented, along with an evaluation of the field s strengths and weaknesses. Renowned experts share insight into the most important recent research projects and point out controversies and challenges. Competencies are regarded as context-specific dispositions acquired and required to cope successfully with domain-specific situations and tasks. However, the range of these dispositions is controversial. Should only cognitive facets be included or is it important to consider attitudes as well? Insufficient response rates and panel attrition are further challenges, as are the limitations of paper-and-pencil approaches to the complex measurement of higher education outcomes. Thus, this book may serve as a platform for the exchange of research experiences and perspectives and hopefully will instigate improvements in research into higher education."
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Five Dimensions of Quality by Linda Suskie; Stan Ikenberry (Foreword by)Meet calls for increased quality and understand accreditation expectations Author Linda Suskie is internationally recognized for her work in higher education assessment, and she is a former vice president of a major regional accreditor. In Five Dimensions of Quality: A Common Sense Guide to Accreditation and Accountability in Higher Education she provides a simple, straightforward model for understanding and meeting the calls for increased quality in higher education ever-present in today's culture. Whether your institution is seeking accreditation or not, the five dimensions she outlines will help you to identify ways to improve institutional quality and demonstrate that quality to constituents. For those wading through the accreditation process, which has become more difficult in recent years due to increasing regulation and pressure for greater accountability, Suskie offers expert guidance on understanding the underlying principles of the expectations of accrediting bodies. Using the model presented here, which is much easier to understand than the sometimes complex resources provided by individual accrediting bodies, American colleges and universities can understand what they need to do to earn and maintain their regional accreditation as well as improve overall institutional quality for their students. You'll be able to: Identify ways to improve institutional quality Demonstrate the quality of your institution to internal and external constituents Avoid wasting time and energy on misguided institutional processes to comply with accreditation requirements By focusing on why colleges and universities should take particular actions rather than only on what those actions should be, Five Dimensions of Quality gives them the knowledge and strategies to prepare for a successful review. It is an ideal resource for leaders, accreditation committee members, and everyone on campus.