Subjects: Medical science
Subjects: Medical science
Subjects: General, journals
Organized to present the basic aspects of medical terminology, this text not only covers concepts and principles, but a significant number of opportunities for students to apply them correctly and effectively. Pronunciation and correct spelling are emphasized throughout.
Includes the national standards for initial PE teacher education and advanced PE teacher education in one comprehensive guidebook. Provides guidance on the 2008 initial and advanced national PE teacher training standards
Takes a developmental approach to special education and physical education, and focuses on the physical functioning and motor functioning that is relevant to both physical education and adapted physical education instructors.
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of Health and Aging. This one-volume encyclopedia presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on health and aging. The 250 entries and relevant appendices cover: biological; psychological; social; and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within health-care systems. As an ever increasing percentage of the population of western societies enters `old age', health issues grow in importance in terms of the well-being of this population, economic impact within the health-care system, impacts on families and family relationships and in so many other ways. The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging covers issues including: - acute illness; - Alzheimer's disease; - bereavement; - cataracts; - centenarians; - dementia; - economic; - dependency; - exercise; - health care costs; - health promotion; - hospice care; - long-term care; - managed care; - medications; - menopause; - nursing homes; - nutrition; - obesity; - optimal aging; - osteoporosis; - Parkinson's disease; - public policy; - `quality of life'; - religiosity; - sexual function; - sleep disturbances; - smoking; - spousal care-giving; - stroke; - widowhood; - wisdom. Also included are landmark studies: Duke Longitudinal Study of Aging; Framingham Heart Study; MacArthur Study of Successful Aging; Established Populations for the Epidemiologic Studies of the Elderly (EPESE); Health and Retirement Study (HRS); and National Long-Term Care Survey, as well as important social and health programmes including: social security, `meals on wheels' and Medicaid/Medicare. The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging is cross-disciplinary, with contributions from the fields of: gerontology; epidemiology; health psychology; biology; sociology; health and medicine; and public policy.
| Bethel University | Library Home | University Registrar |
| CPS:Bethel Online Library and Learning Services | Eportal | Catalogs |
| Bethel News | Academic Calendar |