COMMON TERMINOLOGY
Terms
AA (Associate of Arts): An associate degree program designed for those planning to pursue a bachelor's degree. 60 credit hours is the requirement for completion.
AARTS ( Army/American Council on Education Registry Transcript System):
This program was replaced by JST ( Joint Services Tanscript) AARTS was a program that provided transcripts used to validate military training and experience for active and veteran members of U.S. Army.
ACE (American Council on Education): A program that provides college credit recommendations based upon a review of each job specialty and training program offered by the military.
AAS (Associate of Applied Science): An associate degree program designed for those looking to pursue a specific field immediately after earning an associate degree, which requires a total of 60 credit hours.
Applicant: Anyone who has submitted their application bt has not received a decision..
Applicant Sheet: A shared spreadsheet that tracks student paperwork/acceptance progress, formerly known as the Cohort Enrollment Checklist (CEC) or Prospect List.
Application: A required form completed on BethelSuccess.net which indicates a student's intent to enroll and provides CPS information to determine qualifications for programs.
Articulation Agreement: Agreements formed with community colleges and/or corporations/agencies to allow students ease in the transfer of coursework.
CA (Conditionally Admitted): Candidates who are conditionally admitted must maintain a 3.0 GPA during the first term/semester of enrollment or may be dismissed from the program. After completing the conditional admission requirement, a candidate will be granted full admission.
CAMS (Comprehensive Academic Management System): A database that houses student records after being enrolled; usually Advisors have access to this program.
Canned Responses: A Gmail feature allowing a pre-populated email response used in recruitment to ensure consistency in communication.
Chapter 1606: An education program that provides up to 36 months of benefits to members of the selective reserves. This includes the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard Reserves, Army National Guard and the Air Guard. IT does not require a person to serve on active duty in the regular armed forces to qualify.
Chapter 1607 ( Decommissioned as of 2016): Reserve Educational Assistance Program (REAP) was established as a part of the Ronald W. Regan National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2005. It is a new Department of Defense education benefit program designed to provide education assistance to remembers of the Reserve components called or ordered to active duty in response to a war or national emergency (contingency operation) as declared by the President or Congress. This new program makes certain individuals who were activated after September 11, 201 either eligible for education benefits or eligible for increased benefits.
Chapter 30 (The Montgomery GI Bill): An active duty program that provides up to 36 months of educational benefits for eligible service members. Generally, benefits are payable for 10 years following your release from active duty.
Chapter 31: A program that helps veterans obtain and keep lasting suitable jobs. The student must have served on or after September 16, 1940 and have a service connected disability which is at least 20% disabling as defined by VA. Additionally they must need vocational rehabilitation to overcome an employment handicap. It must be less than 12 years since VA notified them of their eligibility.
Chapter 32 (Veterans Education Assistance Program): An education benefit for veterans who paid into VEAP while they were in the service beginning or after January 1, 1977 through June 30, 1985. They must have been discharged under conditions other than dishonorable and enter active duty after December 31, 1976 but before July 1, 1985. In addition, they must have contributed to VEAP before April 1, 1987 and served long enough to qualify.
Chapter 33 (Post 9/11 GI Bill): An education benefit providing educational assistance to individuals who have served on active duty on or after September 11, 2001. Persons eligible for Chapters 30, 1606, or REAP benefits may elect to receive benefits under this new Post-9/11 GI Bill.
Chatbox (Zopim): A feature on BethelSuccess.net that engages website visitors through real-time instant messages and is managed from the Student Services department.
CHEA (Council for Higher Education Accreditation): A non-profit organization fo colleges and universities serving as the national advocate for voluntary self-regulation through accreditation.
Clearinghouse: The National Student Clearinghouse is a nonprofit and nongovernmental organization and the leading provider of educational reporting, data exchange, verification, and research services. Bethel University reports enrollment data and degree information to the Clearinghouse. In turn. the Clearinghouse makes this data available to lenders and governmental agencies, relieving Bethel University of this burden.
CLEP (College Level Examination Program): A plan that enables students to earn college credit for introductory-level courses by achieving satisfactory scores on subject-specific tests.
CODS ( Common Origination And Disbursements): Financial Aid Administrators, other school officials, and servicers can use this website to verify batch status, submit data requests, check account balances, and enter or change institution data records via the internet.
COE (Certificate of Eligibility): The COE is provided by the Veterans Administration and it provides detailed information regarding a student's eligibility for VA educational benefits.
Concentrations: A group of courses in a focused area of study/subject matter outside of core courses [i.e. Healthcare Administration or Human Resource Management].
Consent Form: A form that requires a student's signature in order for the University or College to conduct business on their behalf. Depending upon the requirements of the receiving institution, this signature may be electronic or hand written. One of the most common uses of a consent form is to request transcripts from Universities, Colleges and Schools.
Course Equivalency: A term used to describe how a course from one college or university relates to a course offered by another institution. The courses are said to be equivalent when both courses are viewed as equal in subject and academic content. Each institution has its own methods and measures used to determine equivalency. Questions regarding equivalency should be directed to the Registrar's Office.
CPS (College of Professional Studies): A division of the university that provides adult learners an opportunity to earn undergraduate and graduate degrees in business and criminal justice.
CRM (Customer Relationship Management): A system used by Bethel to organize and collect lead information and track enrollment materials. CPS currently uses Hobsons: Radius.
CRP (Company Reimbursement Policy): A document that outlines the requirements and guidelines for a company's tuition assistance or reimbursement policy.
DANTES (Defense Activity for Non-Traditional Education Support): Credit-by-examination tests designed to allow a student to demonstrate proficiency in an area of study normally taught at a college or university.
DD-214: The Defense Department issues to each veteran a DD-214, identifying the veteran's condition of discharge - honorable, general, other than honorable, dishonorable or bad conduct.
DE (Denied): Applicants who are denied do not meet Graduate admissions criteria as determined by the Academic Review Committee. Reasons for denial are not disclosed.
Degree Audit: A detailed analysis and report of a student’s academic file which enables the student and his/her Advisor to assess the student's academic progress towards degree completion.
Degree Requirements: The credits which a candidate for a degree must complete in order to graduate, as stated in the catalog published for the year of his/her most recent matriculation.
Degree Verification: An official document prepared by the Office of the Registrar which confirms a degree has been conferred and the date the degree was conferred.
eBenefits: eBenefits is a portal; a central location for Veterans, service members, and their families to research, find, access, and, in time, manage their benefits and personal information.
EC (Entrance Counseling): The Direct Loan process that explains student rights and responsibilities as a borrower. Federal Family Education Loan (FFEL) Program, the Federal Government requires the student to complete entrance loan counseling to ensure they understand the responsibilities and obligations being assumed.
Ed Financial: An organization that serves as Bethel’s third party FAFSA verifier. We send the documents for evaluation and Ed Financial makes the determination regarding their EFC.
EFC (Expected Family Contribution): Family contributions as determined by the student’s FAFSA.
ELR (Educational Liaison Representative): A VA representative assigned to the state of Tennessee to assist School Certifying Officials with VA and VA related issues.
Enrolled: A student who has completed an application and has been accepted into a program.
Enrollment Verification: An official document that confirms attendance, awarded degrees, current and past enrollment, expected graduation date, and other parts of a student record.
eScript-Safe: A transcript service that interfaces with the sending institution’s student information and sends official transcript information in electronic format at the request of the student.
FA (Fully Admitted): Candidates who are fully admitted meet all criteria with no restrictions into the Graduate program.
FAFSA (Free Application for Student Aid): A free application/form completed by a student to be considered for financial aid.
Filters: Queries or requests for information in the CRM.
Financial Aid Year: Begins July 1 and ends June 30. Current 2017-2018 began July 1, 2017 & will end June 30, 2018. The coming year’s FAFSA (18-19) is available for completion beginning October 1, 2017. Undergraduate students are encouraged to complete the FAFSA sooner than later to increase the opportunity for the most available funds.
GOARMYED.COM: GoArmyEd is the gateway to all Army Continuing Education System (ACES) programs and services.
Hobsons: The name of the company that created the system (CRM) we use to manage every component of our student relationships – from initial inquiry/interest to enrollment.
Information Session: An one-hour meeting provided to potential students by Recruiters to share program and enrollment information.
In-school Deferment: Time when all student loan payments are suspended based on school enrollment status.
Interest Form: Basic information from the student gathered on the BethelSuccess.net website.
ISIR (Institutional Student Information Record): The school’s version of the SAR.
JST (Joint Services Transcript): JST is the next phase in Military transcripts. The Army, Coast Guard, Navy and Marines will be transitioning to the JST beginning in March of 2013. This transcript will replace the AARTS and SMARTS transcript services.
LMS (Learning Management System or Virtual Campus): Coursework and resources delivered to students in an electronic format (online), which CPS refers to as V-Camp or V-Camp 360.
M.B.A. (Master of Business Administration): A graduate level business administration degree program requiring 36 credit hours for completion.
MPN (Master Promissory Note): A legal document in which a student promises to repay their loan(s) and any accrued interest and fees to the U.S. Department of Education.
M.S.C.J. (Master of Science in Criminal Justice): A graduate level criminal justice degree program requiring 36 credit hours for completion.
myBethel: An internal communication system used to deliver announcements, frequently requested documents, and occasional online training employees.
Orientation (Start Date): 1. A mandatory day for online students that marks the beginning of all online programs (Associate, Undergraduate & Graduate) held at the Nashville Campus, where students are issued technology, meet staff, learn best practice/tips on how to thrive in an online environment and network with peers.[Usually lasts 9am-12pm or 1pm-4pm] 2. An evening designed as an introduction to Bethel and Advisors for on-campus students [held on a designated night of the week, one week prior to the first night of class].
Parchment: Parchment is a transcript service organization that provides transcript services to universities, colleges and schools.
Pell Grant: A Title IV federal funded grant awarded to students based on need.
Plan of Study: A document outlining a student’s requirements in courses/credit hours needed to graduate.
Private Career Accreditation (National Accreditation): Private Career Accreditation, also known as national accreditation, generally refers to for-profit, career-based, single-purpose institutions, both two- and four-year, both degree- and non-degree-granting; that are accredited by one of a number of non-regional accrediting organizations that provides external quality review.
Program of Study: The degree program in which a student is enrolled
Prospect or Lead: Anyone who filled out the interest page or started an application, but has not submitted.
Regional Accreditation: Regionally accredited institutions are public and private, mainly non-profit, degree-granting two- and four-year institutions accredited by one of the six regional accrediting bodies.
Release Form: Many institutions require a students’ original signature prior to releasing an official transcript. The Release form is designed for this purpose and once completed it may be faxed, mailed or hand delivered to the requesting office.
Rolling/Open Enrollment: Terminology used to indicate monthly starts/enrollments rather than the traditional college starts of Fall, Spring, & Summer.
SACSCOC (Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges): One of the six regional accreditation organizations recognized by the United States Department of Education and the Council for Higher Education Accreditation. This agency accredits over 13,000 public and private educational institutions ranging from preschool to college level in the Southern United States.
SAP (Satisfactory Academic Progress): Students are required to have SAP in order to maintain Financial Aid eligibility.
SAR (Student Aid Report): A summary of the information submitted on the Free Application for Student Aid [FAFSA].
Savant: A company used to develop learning management systems and deliver comprehensive courseware to engage and empower students for successful learning retention. This company designed and maintains our virtual campus (V-Camp) & myBethel platforms.
SCO (School Certifying Official): The person authorized by the educational institution to certify attendance for all VA eligible students and provide that information to the VA Regional Office.
Seminars: On-campus lectures offered to eligible Undergraduate and Graduate students every six weeks at alternating campuses (Nashville or Memphis) on Saturdays. Students receive 1hr. credit for each Seminar attended. Graduate students must attend Seminars in groups of three, the equivalence of a 3 credit hour elective course.
SMARTS (Sailor/Marine American Council on Education Registry Transcript System): This program was replaced by JST (Joint Services Transcript). It was a system that provided transcripts used to validate the military training and for active and veteran members of the U.S. Navy and Marine Corp.
Smarthinking: Free 24/7 online tutorial service provided to all CPS students.
Student Orientation Course: A one-week course, formerly known as the Accelerated Prep Course, offered to all graduate students as an introduction to the online classroom (V-Camp). For undergraduate students, a five-week Orientation course will serve as an introduction to the online classroom.
SUCCESS: The College of Professional Studies’ official name for the undergraduate business programs.
TA (Tuition Assistance): A program that provides financial assistance for voluntary off-duty education programs in support of a Soldier's professional and personal self-development goals. TA is available for courses that are offered in the classroom or by distance learning. This program may also be available to Spouses (MyCAA) or Military Contracted Personnel. Various branches of service will have different TA programs, which may provide different processes. For instance the Army branches of service - courses offered are registered in the www.GoArmyEd.com portal.
TELS (Tennessee Education Lottery Scholarship Program): A program established to provide non-repayable financial assistance to financially-needy undergraduate students who are residents of Tennessee. Applicants must be enrolled or accepted at a public or an eligible non-public post-secondary institution in Tennessee. The TELS is a state-funded grant program.
TES (Transfer Evaluation System): This is a tool used by the Registrar’s Office to see coursework from other colleges and universities for transfer purposes. The list of courses in TES is not comprehensive; we are continually updating TES with more courses and institutions.
Traditional Review Files: Formerly known as underage files, are files in queue for review due to the applicant not meeting the minimum program requirements.
Transcript Evaluation: The initial comprehensive review of all previous academic work prior to attending Bethel University. The review includes but is not limited to institutional accreditation, the academic level of each courses, and the application of each course to the chosen Bethel University degree program.
Transcript Equivalency Sheet: A Transfer Equivalency Sheet is prepared by the Registrar's Office and is a course by course comparison of Bethel University courses against those of another institution. This comparison determines how a course will be used to fulfill graduation requirements in transfer to Bethel University. These sheets are not reciprocal unless part of an articulation agreement. These sheets are only valid for the catalog year that was reviewed. For example, if a student earns credit for a course in the 2010-2011 school year at another institution. Bethel's Transfer Equivalency sheet for that institution produced for the 2010-2011 school year must be used to determine equivalency.
Transfer Summary: A summary of all courses transferred for a particular student and how those courses are used to fulfill graduation requirements.
TRT (Tax Return Transcript): A document similar to the tax return filed with the IRS with limited information that is oftentimes requested from the student attempting to clear verification.
TSAC (Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation) or TSAA (The Tennessee Student Assistance Award Program): This program was established to provide non-repayable financial assistance to financially-needy undergraduate students who are residents of Tennessee. Applicants must be enrolled or accepted for enrollment, at least half time, at a public or an eligible non-public post-secondary institution in Tennessee. Funds are awarded on a first come, first-serve basis.
UEH (Unusual Enrollment History): Students that have attended several colleges and have not earned academic credit from the institution will be required to provide legitimate reasons for leaving each institution. Students will be ineligible for aid until appealed.
UnMet Degree Requirements: The credits required for graduation under the student’s most recent matriculation which have not yet been completed.
USDE (United States Department of Education): The U.S. Department of Education is the agency of the federal government that establishes policy for, administers and coordinates most federal assistance to education.
VA Mitigating Circumstance (for student’s using VA Benefits only): VA will allow for one extenuating circumstance, if the student needs to drop a course. If approved, the VA will waive any overpayment debt attached to the course in question. The School Certifying Official (SCO – aka School’s VA Department) must know of the circumstance prior to the drop being processed in order to notify the VA of the occurrence (i.e. remarks on drop form received or email from advisor). Supporting evidence from the student may be required.
Verification: A process in which students are asked to provide documentation confirming the accuracy of the information reported on their FAFSA and ensures eligible students receive financial aid.
Veterans Affairs: Government-run military veteran benefit system with Cabinet-level status. It is the United States government’s second largest department, after the United States Department of Defense. With a total 2009 budget of about $87.6 billion, VA employs nearly 280,000 people at hundreds of Veterans Affairs medical facilities, clinics, and benefits offices and is responsible for administering programs of veterans’ benefits for veterans, their families, and survivors.
Virtual Orientation: A video/web conferencing option hosted via the ClickMeeting platform for approved students unable to attend Orientation at the Nashville campus required for online students.
Vocational Rehabilitation (Chapter 31- Voc. Rehab): Please be aware that there are two different Vocational Rehabilitation programs that the student may be eligible*. The Veterans Administration (VR&E) provides educational assistance for those military veterans that have at least a 20% disability (caused in-service). This benefit can cover 100% of the degree in which the student is approved. The benefit can only be used once and the school will need approval prior to the student being eligible to start the program (VA Form 28-1905). (Note: State Vocational Rehabilitation offered through the Workforce Investment Act (WIA) is not handled by VA or the school’s VA Certifying Official. Rather it is handled through the Financial Aid Office.
Ask T&D
Call: 615-748-0439
