Art

Provides instant access to 29,976 titles divided into over 280,000 segments neatly grouped into convenient subject-specific categories.

Creative Commons licenses help creators retain copyright while allowing others to copy, distribute, and make some uses of their work, at least non-commercially.

All of the Creative Commons licenses require that users provide attribution to the creator when the material is used and shared. Some licensors choose the attribution requirement as the only condition for reuse of the material; this is designated as the BY license. The other five licenses combine the BY license with one or more of three additional license elements: NonCommercial (NC), which prohibits commercial use of the material; NoDerivatives (ND), which prohibits the sharing of adaptations of the material; and ShareAlike (SA), which requires adaptations of the material be released under the same license. (Adapted from http://wiki.creativecommons.org/ FAQ#What_are_Creative_Commons_licenses.3F.)

Find photographs, including images by amateurs and professionals. Additionally, many archives use this website to host public domain images, such as the IMLS Digital Collections and Content group (https://www.flickr.com/people/imlsdcc/) and the British Library (https://www.flickr.com/photos/britishlibrary).

Find historic images and photographs, but note that licensing may vary; some images may be free of copyright and others are not, so be sure to read the rights restrictions for the image you select.

Explore 745,656 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. Clicking on the "Public Domain" filter on the left side of the page will ensure freely usable items are returned in your search. Website includes prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone.

"Burst is a free stock photo site that is powered by Shopify. We have 1000’s of high quality and royalty-free images available and free to download. This includes a wide variety of images ready for you to choose from and create with."

"A search engine for free photos. We search almost 30 million free photos under 10 free licenses." Users must verify that the licenses on this site are accurate and current for the image they want to use.

"Search through thousands of free (CC0 licensed) stock photos" by keyword or color.

"The Met collection has grown artistically, geographically, and culturally to represent more than 5,000 years of art from across the globe—from the first cities of the ancient world to works being created today." Be sure to select the 'Public Domain Artworks' box on the left hand side of the results screen.

"Contains photographs freely contributed by many artists to be used in creative projects by visitors to the site."

"Beautiful, high-res photos of black and brown people."

"We have a large collection of royalty free images that can be used in any project (personal or commercial)."

"Find and share images free of copyrights. All pictures are published under Creative Commons public domain deed CC0."

"Find thousands of Creative Commons licensed images from historical library materials and museum objects to contemporary digital photographs."